Skip repeated menu and go directly to page content.


San Diego State University logo & navigation link to campus homepage
Public Safety / SDSU Police Department


Business & Financial Affairs > Police Department > Campus Services > 
 

 

Defensive Driving


Link to download the latest version of Adobe Reader

California state law requires obtaining a California drivers license within 10 days and registering your vehicle within 20 days of establishing residency in CA. If you are a full time employee of San Diego State University we will require a California drivers license.

The California State University Office of Risk Management requires all employees to meet required criteria before authorizing the use of university vehicles. Employees who are required to operate motorized vehicles on university business are required to be safe drivers and operate vehicles in a safe manner. Employees must have a supervisor’s permission to operate any vehicle on university business. If the employee’s position requires operation of a vehicle on university business, then approval will be contingent upon satisfying each of the following, in accordance with the CSU Use of University and Private Vehicles Policy Guidelines [PDF]:

  1. Possession of a valid California Driver's License.
  2. Not have received more than three moving violations and/or accidents or combination thereof in the past twelve month period.
  3. Maintain a good and safe driving record while employed by San Diego State University.
  4. Entry into the Employer Pull Notice Program via submission of the following forms:

These forms are required to be hand-delivered to the Defensive Driving Coordinator in Public Safety, but does not provide release to drive on university business. Approval will be granted when this form is approved and signed by the Department of Public Safety, upon which notification via e-mail will be provided to the employee and supervisor.

  1. Submission of the Defensive Driving Online Course Certificate to Public Safety within one month of the waiver approval date. (Link to course will be sent upon waiver approval.)
    1. Faculty/Staff Online Course
      • For instructions please contact Ashley Jones.
    2. Student/Volunteer/TA/GA Online Course
      • No registration required
      • Certificate requires employee and supervisor signature
  2. Submission of Defensive Driver Yearly Release [PDF] to Public Safety once a year following entry into program.

Those employees who drive their personal vehicle on state business more than once a month and/or will request mileage reimbursement must complete the steps above and have an Authorization to Use Privately Owned Vehicles on State Business [PDF] on file with their department, signed annually by the employee and supervisor.

Remember, while driving a vehicle on university business, it is mandatory to report any accident for which you are involved. The employee must submit a Vehicle Accident Report [PDF] and the supervisor/manager must submit a State Driver Accident Review [PDF] within 48 hours to the Department of Public Safety, Parking & Support Services Coordinator, MC-4390.

Ashley Jones, Parking & Support Services Coordinator
Defensive Driving
SDSU Police Department
5500 Campanile Drive
San Diego, CA 92182-4390
Mail Code: 4390

Phone: (619) 594-5846
Email: arjones@mail.sdsu.edu

Note: documents in Portable Document Format (PDF) require Adobe Acrobat Reader 5.0 or higher to view, download Adobe Acrobat Reader.

 

[top of page]

This page last updated August 9, 2014
Site Contact UCO Web Support